Skip to content
Blaenau Gwent Counts — Blaenau Gwent, in numbers.Local help →

Blaenau Gwent, in numbers

People and living standards

Blaenau Gwent council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Blaenau Gwent council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population fell from 72,666 in 1991 to 67,593 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Blaenau Gwent council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 72,289 people in 1996; 67,593 people in 2025. 6.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Blaenau Gwent council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199172,666
199272,592
199372,521
199472,770
199572,569
199672,289
199772,031
199871,292
199971,028
200070,537
200170,000
200269,452
200369,228
200469,242
200569,188
200669,610
200769,685
200869,820
200969,850
201069,798
201169,812
201269,589
201369,186
201468,737
201568,395
201668,135
201767,829
201867,566
201967,382
202067,219
202166,989
202266,919
202367,485
202467,712
202567,593
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Blaenau Gwent council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,786 people in 1996; 11,738 people in 2025. 25.6% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Blaenau Gwent council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,095
199215,316
199315,578
199415,885
199515,833
199615,786
199715,776
199815,696
199915,453
200015,279
200114,899
200214,480
200314,132
200413,879
200513,642
200613,443
200713,165
200813,002
200912,740
201012,560
201112,474
201212,318
201312,251
201412,088
201511,940
201611,798
201711,679
201811,819
201911,818
202011,790
202111,709
202211,678
202311,882
202411,866
202511,738
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Blaenau Gwent council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 44,184 people in 1996; 41,579 people in 2025. 5.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Blaenau Gwent council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199145,006
199244,776
199344,486
199444,496
199544,351
199644,184
199744,071
199843,550
199943,621
200043,414
200143,256
200243,188
200343,316
200443,602
200543,712
200644,227
200744,492
200844,669
200944,826
201044,792
201144,821
201244,390
201343,949
201443,433
201543,157
201642,903
201742,639
201842,255
201941,912
202041,758
202141,642
202241,478
202341,732
202441,756
202541,579
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Blaenau Gwent council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 12,319 people in 1996; 14,276 people in 2025. 15.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Blaenau Gwent council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,565
199212,500
199312,457
199412,389
199512,385
199612,319
199712,184
199812,046
199911,954
200011,844
200111,845
200211,784
200311,780
200411,761
200511,834
200611,940
200712,028
200812,149
200912,284
201012,446
201112,517
201212,881
201312,986
201413,216
201513,298
201613,434
201713,511
201813,492
201913,652
202013,671
202113,638
202213,763
202313,871
202414,090
202514,276
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 66,903 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Blaenau Gwent · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh6210.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1150.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups5690.9%
White65,45697.8%
Other ethnic group1420.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 69,814 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Blaenau Gwent · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White68,75098.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3940.6%
Asian/Asian British4850.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British950.1%
Other ethnic group900.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 70,064 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Blaenau Gwent · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White69,48399.2%
Mixed1840.3%
Asian/Asian British2220.3%
Black/Black British590.1%
Chinese/Other1160.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 30.3% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Blaenau Gwent council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £7,060 per person in 1997; £18,101 per person in 2024. 156.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Blaenau Gwent council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19977,060
19987,075
19997,622
20008,153
20018,500
20028,676
20039,074
20049,555
20059,733
20069,743
200710,156
200810,470
200910,654
201010,797
201110,981
201211,505
201311,807
201412,215
201512,654
201613,006
201713,374
201813,873
201914,016
202014,568
202115,075
202215,620
202316,809
202418,101
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Blaenau Gwent council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -33.5% in 1997; -30.3% in 2024. 3.2 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Blaenau Gwent council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-33.5
1998-34.7
1999-32.6
2000-31.5
2001-31.3
2002-31.4
2003-30.4
2004-29.6
2005-30.8
2006-33.5
2007-33.8
2008-33.5
2009-33.5
2010-33.1
2011-32.6
2012-31.9
2013-32.6
2014-32.5
2015-33.5
2016-32.5
2017-32.1
2018-32
2019-33.5
2020-30.6
2021-31
2022-32
2023-31.3
2024-30.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

52.2%

21 March 2021 · Blaenau Gwent council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

28.4%

21 March 2021 · Blaenau Gwent council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

27.9%

21 March 2021 · Blaenau Gwent council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

9.5%

21 March 2021 · Blaenau Gwent council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£144,000

July 2026 · Blaenau Gwent council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£681

August 2026 · Blaenau Gwent council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.